How to Find Gluten Free Alcohol

First of all, go ahead and set the idea of beer drinking aside. If you are dealing with gluten intolerance, you should avoid beer altogether at first, that is unless you are drinking beer that is certified to be free of gluten. In that case, you are fine. You should already know the consequences you will face if you do make the mistake of exposing your body to gluten from any source.

As you will discover from many sources, it is wheat, spelt, barley, and rye that have gluten. These are some of the most commonly used grains in the American standard diet. So many people with unknown gluten intolerance eat breads of all sorts and drink gluten-containing beers on a regular basis. You may not even think about it but there are many forms of alcoholic beverages that do contain gluten and you will need to learn about them all right now.

This is just a basic guide and you should look into the matter more deeply. First, consider one important thing. If your digestive system has been damaged by gluten intolerance, it is best to avoid alcohol altogether until it has had a chance to heal. Alcoholic beverages already have the potential to damage the intestines so you don’t want to make matters worse.

Once you do get healed, you can begin to drink gluten free alcohol beverages if you so desire. Keep it all in moderation, as usual, or you could develop a serious dependence. Just because you are staying gluten-free does not mean you cannot develop an alcohol habit.

How are these beverages made to be free of gluten? The beers that have no gluten in them are usually made from rice, millet, sorghum, and sometimes amaranth. Go figure, but these are actually good tasting grains to make beer out of. With some of the brands, you can’t even tell that they are gluten-free.

When it comes to liquor, basically avoid whiskey, rye-liquor, bourbon, and anything brown. Some of these liquors can be made and distilled without any gluten ingredients. Make sure they are labeled as gluten free. Otherwise, you never know for sure and it is not worth it to take chances, especially with the already irritating alcohol contained in them.